New to PLCs and in desperate need of help.

vixen4u

Hello Please be patient with me I am new to all this. I am currently a student who just started my PLC class with alot of work to do on our own without teachers help. Our teacher has not taught use nothing or better yet has not even explained anything we are to figure it our on our own. The problem I have and the other students is that we have a capstone project that we need to do and do not know what kind of electronic projects can be done on the PLC. We feel so lost in this class. I was wondering if anyone knew of a site for PLC projects or experiments that can at least get use started. I have looked on this site, but we also have to build the project and need electronic schematics also so we can build it. We just do not know where the PLC fits in. I hope this all makes sense I and my fellow classmates are a little frustrated and lost.

thank you for your time

Where the PLC fits in is that it is the brains of the machine. It tells the various devices when to start and when to stop. It reads in data from the sensors, and then uses its internal logic (which would be written by you) to determine what outputs need to be switched on and which to be switched off.

I would suggest the following steps:
1, Go to the top of the page and click on the learn PLCs link, complete this series of lessons.
2, Go to your lab, or teacher, and find out the brand and model of PLC you are using.
3, Go to the PLC manufacturer's web site and download the manual for that PLC. If you are lucky, it will have some application examples for you.

If you get stuck on any of the steps, post back at this forum and let us know what step you are stuck on and what the problem is.

Good Luck with your studies.

Doug

Thank you for your quick response. I have tried to email my teacher to see if he can tell what type of PLC we are using I hope he can answer by class on friday.

thanks again
vickie