How to track a part using a "shift register"?

SilverLoop

i have a conveyor application that will index parts through various stations. the parts have the same basic attributes such as sku, weight, lenght, density, etc. basically a mixed group of datatypes will make up a part.

i will need to track the unique parts through the conveyor system.

i am new to controllogix but it seems like i need to develop a udt that represents a part and then allocate in memory a structure that represents the possible locations on my conveyor and "shift" the parts along as the conveyor is indexed.

if anyone could get me started on how to set something like this up, i would greatly appreciate it!

A better method for tracking is not a shift register, with a shift register the bits/words can get quite big.

The way I use for tracking objects on conveyors is quite simple. Two words for each object, the first is its ID, the second is where it is on the conveyor, incremented each tracking pulse (you could switch conveyor for section in machine).

The first two words could be kept for status and how many objects are on the conveyor.

I.E.

Status = Running
No. Objects = 2

Object 1 ID = 50
Object 1 Pos = 120 (mm)

Object 2 ID = 49
Object 2 Pos = 188 (mm)

Object 3 ID = 0
Object 3 Pos = 0 (mm) [EMPTY]

Size the data buffer to the maximum objects you can get in.

A new object in shifts the object list up 1, an object out clears the last object (in both cases No. Objects inc/dec as appropriate).

You then have a seperate data area for each objects info, say you can only have a maximum of 50 objects, then set uo space for 55 objects with all the data for that object. Object 50 looks in dedicated area for object 50 etc. As the objects come into the system you increment the ID and call it the next available No., once 55 is reached the next is 1.

Edit:

This is also good in my business, tracking at 1000mm/sec, to see things. Otherwise the shoot through data area too quick.

Last edited: