(Beginner question,step7) Data addressing

kahorn03

Hi!
I'm quite new to step7 and I'm not sure if I got this one right so I appreciate if you can help me out:
What does following addressing mean; DB11.DBW35 4(4 is underneath first addressing).
I've read that it should mean; Datablock11.Dataword35 ...(but what does the 4 stand for)?

I've read it in the help manuals: Help>Content>appendix>memory areas of step7 cpu>system memory>using the system memory areas.

Have I got it totally wrong?

If I look in the help area you mentioned, I see a table showing how to access the different areas. There is no mention of DB11.DBW35

(Which version of Step 7 are you running ? I am using V5.2 + SP1)

You are right gambrinus.
The address appears to be DB11.DBW354 (just with a linebreak in between 5 and 4 which confused this newbie).
I am using v5.3+SP3, and in this version it is described DB and DBW separately.
Thanks for your help!

Hi.
Given the success of my last question I shoot again:
The in wire in a Move block is addressed; "L#0".
Does this mean "Load 0"?
In other words when the EN/ENO is 1, the IN wire sets the out wire to 0?
Follow up: What does the "#" symbol do in addressing?
Examples: "#temp_real" in a Cmp-block and the "#0" in the move block.

L#0 is a DINT (Double Integer, 32 bits long)

L 0 = Interger

L L#0 = Double Integer

# before a name means its a variable declared as a STAT or TEMP.

A #Start_up //could be either.

Some people give a clue in the name:

A #s_Start_up // means they declared it as a STAT, where

A #t_Start_up // means they declared it as a TEMP.

also

A -Start_Up would be and input, output or memory flag declared in the symbols files.

Last edited:
Hekko Kahorn;

When you see the # in addressing, it refers to the declarations table for FBs and FCs;

declarations.jpg

When you call the FB (as per this example) you will have to fill in parameters for it to transsfer to the local code.
#start := I12.4
#stop := Q23.6
#motor := DB100.DBX42.0