Control Logix data from TI575 PLC

russrmartin

Hey guys, I"m just curious if anyone knows if this is possible. I need to read data from a TI processor, and I need to get it to a CLogix5000. We have a SST VME backplane module in the TI rack, but I have never used this before. I'm not even sure what command, if any there is in CL to go and retrieve the data. I think there is a generic read or something that you then configure where you want it to go, but I'm not sure what it is right off the top of my head. I'm currently digging, and will post my methodology when this is complete. I'm just looking for the simplest way to do this. Thanks.

Russ

Last edited:
A little better explanation this time. I was hoping that I could use some sort of an MSG to get the data into the ControlLogix via ethernet. It appears like the MSG will not work over ethernet, I think. We are currently getting data out of the TI processor to a Fix system via the SST card I mentioned above. I am just trying to duplicate that somehow, and get the data into a CL5000 PLC rather than the Fix system. Thanks.

Russ

Last edited:
russrmartin said:
A little better explanation this time. I was hoping that I could use some sort of an MSG to get the data into the ControlLogix via ethernet. It appears like the MSG will not work over ethernet, I think. We are currently getting data out of the TI processor to a Fix system via the SST card I mentioned above. I am just trying to duplicate that somehow, and get the data into a CL5000 PLC rather than the Fix system. Thanks.

Russ

MSG works over Ethernet. It supports CIP generic on the CLX 5000 end, and I don't know what the TI supports.

I believe the 1756-EWEB does raw TCP/IP messaging.
If you forum search the EWEB, I believe there was a similiar application done.