Cimplicity

stvsas

A fellow at work today mentioned that "Cimplicity" has all drivers for every PLC. He said if I had it, I would not need RS Linx to communicate with my SLCs.
I searched this site for Cimplicity and none of the posts mentioned any thing about this. Does anyone know where I can learn about cimplicity? I would like to know.
Thanks in advance. stv

Just be careful!! If Cimpicity does have a driver for AB PLCs it may not cover all PLCs and may be slow.

Citect have drivers for evrything virtually but if you want good communications with AB PLCs, you will probably have to buy RS Linx. This is/was a policy of AB that they sell a licence each time you use the driver.

Check with Citect - they have about 8 AB drivers. It appears that some require AB software and some may not.

www.citect.com

Bob,

I've been using Citect intensively for about 3 months now, and I have to say that I think it's OPC implementation really sucks. Because it's code base is very dated, it cannot properly handle OPC style string names in the graphic animations so it has to cross-correlate the OPC string tag names to an intermediate "OID" value that is generated in the variable tag database.

This works ok as long as you have just a single project, but introduce multiple servers, multilple clients and clustering, then it becomes a total nightmare to keep all the OID's lined up across the whole system. Simply doing an "OID Reset" does not always fix the problem; in the end Citect Support had us manually delete ALL the OID's in ALL of our projects, re-pack and recompile them all.

The problem is not just confined to the servers. The Citect Server/Client architecture is totally weird. The clients are really very THICK clients, that run a complete copy of the tag database, graphics and cicode files. As a result you cannot just do a change at the server level and expect that the clients will reflect the changes...oh no you have to propagate all the changes to the client as well.