Power-up stage

Tenbaum

Hey guys I am fairly new to RLL (including Stage programming), I was wondering if there was an easy to include in my program a start-up section that upon powering-up checks whether all input and out devices are operational, is there a standard procedure (i.e. checking word bytes). Thanks.

Tenbaum

Most PLCs have a power up or first scan bit. If they don't its a trivial matter to make one yourself. You can use this bit to then perform whatever initialization you need.

I'm curious what criteria you are proposing to use to check if input/output devices are operational? Are you refering to the IO cards, or are you refering to field devices? Most IO cards (unless you are using a primitive PLC) return operational status information to the processor already and the PLC will check out the cards as a part of its normal housekeeping.

Tenbaum...

You CAN NOT do what you want to do!

Even if a sensor is configured as normally closed, and you "see" that it is Closed... how do you KNOW that it is in fact ready for use?

For example, you might have a limit switch that is normally closed... it is not being acted on, so there is a signal... however... what if the operator-arm has broken off? Is the limit-switch really ready?

And then there is the case where you have a normally open limit-switch that IS being acted on... is it on BECAUSE it is being acted on? Or... is is on because the "Sourcing" sensor-output is shorted to hot... or the "Sinking" sensor-input (input? output? Hmmm???) is shorted to ground?

You CAN NOT KNOW the reliability of the system until the system begins running! Then, after it begins running, YOU need to "tell" the program what to expect! If things happen as expected, then things are apparently OK... else NOT!

It's one of those damnable "after-the-fact" kind of things!

You don't KNOW you have a problem UNTIL the problem occurs!