Shift registers

bb1fit

Ok, I am new at this, doing this strictly at home. I am doing the bottle simulation, and am having trouble making the right bottles(large ones) drop only. What my biggest problems is I guess is I don't understand the shift register logic...how do I figure the right bit number from my BSL instruction to divert only the large bottles? Am using LS2(large bottle limit switch) with my BSL in series to initiate the drop gate. Thanks for anyone in advance for any help. Understanding shift registers will probably be a big plus to me figuring this thing out.

I would say...

If you are using Bit-Shift Registers...

Use TWO shift registers... each synchronized with the other.

You need to know the size... and the presence!

Use one register to monitor the presence of all bottles.

Then use the other to monitor the size.

If Reg-A = 1 then Bottle present...
If Reg-B = 0 then Bottle is Small.
If Reg-B = 1 then Bottle = Large.

If you are using Word-Shift Registers... the Word could contain both the presence and the stature!

bb1fit,

Remember that the bit-shift register is an attempt to mimic the physical movement of the bottles. When a bottle moves a certain distance on the conveyor, a bit should shift 1 position in the PLC memory. To figure the right bit number from the LS2, simply count the number of bottles (and empty bottle positions) on the conveyor between the LS2 and the Divert Gate. In real-life systems, I set the encoder to pulse every 1", and then use a 100-foot tape to measure the distance between the trigger point and the diverter gate trip point.