Penalty Clauses

TConnolly

Lifetime Supporting Member
Mind you, I'm not a fan of using them as I like to keep the relationships with my panel builders on good terms, in fact, I've never used one before, but the subject came up regarding a job we have out for bid right now as this job absolutely must remain on schedule and we have been burned before.

What kind of verbage have you all seen or used yourselves and what is fair and reasonable?

Been there, done that, its tough. Have you tried the incentive method? Shorter payment terms if they are on-time? Like 5 days verses the standard 30 if they beat the due date.

Nearly Impossible

A penalty clause to a panel builder is nearly impossible to enforce and any panel builder would be an idiot to agree to one. The reason is that there are too many things beyond his (her) control.

For example, you are bulding panels that use SLC 5/04's. Rockwell Automation's production plant for 5/04's goes on strike. (Sorry to bring up THAT thread again.) Or there is hurricane damage to the plant. Or a serious QC issue halting release of product. Reasons ad nauseum...

Are you really expected to make your own SLC 5/04's? Are you supposed to buy them on eBay to get by? How can you get your panels done if the hold-up is due to the delays originating from "others".

Panel builders do not really "manufacture" anything in the sense that they do not take "raw materials" and "refine" them. They are simply "job shop" assembly areas.

To make sure a project gets done, you must plan and build it in milestone stages that get individual inspections or checkpoints. (progress payments even?) You must also develop a working, trusting relationship with the panel builder.

Some sort of price incentive pro-rated by time will sometimes give a panel-shop a little kick in the butt. But, as stated already, no respectable panel shop will agree to a penalty clause on a delivery date.

$