S7 300 indirect addressing help

JOLTRON

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello all,

I'm new to indirect addressing in siemens controller.
I know the basic idea but I'm having issues with coding it.

I basicly have 50 some part numbers that I want to be able to move around and i don't want to have a network for everyone one.

The information I am moving is in a DB and all part numbers are 18 characters long.

Ex: P#DB99.DBX0.0 byte 18

So I was wondering if someone could help me out and give me a basic idea of what the code would look like to the DBX0.0 by 18 or 20.

Thanks,
Joel

Sorry my replies were just re-directions, I was just leaving the office. I'm supprised no-one else has come in and given an overview.

To move data around you need to call SFC20 from the Siemens library, this uses the ANY pointer as source and destination. That last link in my second post includes a cut and paste of the siemens help for the ANY format.

To use it as a variable pointer, you would need to create two ANY variables in the TEMP declaration field, plus a TEMP INT for the SFC20 result.

To modify the data in the TEMP ANY area, you would have to point the address register to the start address of the variable and use it to offset to all the fields.

for example, a TEMP variable SOURCE is named and set as an ANY.

The STL code would be:

Code:
LAR1 P##SOURCE // point AR1 to the start address of the TEMP SOURCE

L W#16#1002 // The 10 part is always there, the 02 refers to BYTE format (see the help of ANY for the others)
T LW[AR1,P#0.0] // Transfer into the SOURCE local flag area (first two bytes)

L 18 // Length of Data
T LW[AR1, P#2.0] // notice the P# is acting as a byte offset.

L 99 // Data Block No.
T LW[AR1, P#4.0]

L 6 // In this example it is DW6
SLD 3 // The 3 right most bits of Byte 9 make up the bit address (0-7)
T LD[AR1, P#6.0] // Byte address is in Bytes 7, 8 and 9

L B#16#84 // 84=Data Area (see help to find other areas, like flags etc)