Am I doing this correctly? Please help!!

dandelo

Hello,

I am extremely new to the world of industrial controls and PLC's. I am taking a class on beginning PLC, but I'm having a hard time. The instructor's only assistance is generally 'read the book' which I've done many times. However, I can read something 1000 times over and still not be quite sure about what I'm doing. I learn best by actually seeing how something works. I'm not asking for answers, I just want to know if what I'm working on is correct. The project assigned is as follows:

Install an anti tie down circuit. The only way the machine can start is two foot switches must be made and two palm switches must be made at the same time before the machine will index. The materials required are 2 Start Buttons, 2 timers, 2 foot switches, 1 relay.

What I have drawn out is correct in my mind, but I'm often wrong. Again, I'm not looking for someone to do this for me, I just want to know if I'm on the right track. Here is my schematic-

(Start)(Start)
----II----II---------------(TIMER T1)5seconds

(Foot) (Foot)
----II----II---------------(TIMER T2)5seconds

(T1) (T2)
----II----II---------------(C1) Relay
' '
'----II----'
(C1)

(C1)
----II--------------------(Y0)Motor start

This is how I interpret the instructions, am I correct? If not, please explain why, it would be a tremendous help!

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Where does 5 seconds come from - don't see it in the assignment.
What does timer T1 do - delay on for 5 seconds, pulse for 5 seconds or what ?
Also, what do you mean by "index" ?

Last edited:
Greetings dandelo,