help with RSView

Shilo

I need to move an RSView project from one computer to another to do some edits for a new project. I have never done this before and in fact have only limited experience with making small edits to RSView.
I moved the .rsv file to my new computer and some of the project folders. When I try to open the project I get a message block saying "Tag database not found!".
Can anybody tell me what I'm missing?
Thanks.

Hi:

If you version is Rsview SE, go to www.ab.con and then go to knowledgebase and there download "hmibackup" application.

If you version is ME, the you have to saae all the path like this:
"c:\documments and settings\all users\shared documets\rsview enterprise\se or \me" and copy all the files and directories to exactly the same place in the other computer and you can work with it

william

Actually if you are using RSView ME just copying the files won't work.

Select Start->Program->Rockwell Software->REView Enterprise->Tools->Application Manager

Then Select ME or SE Standalone or SE Distributed.

Select Backup Application->Next
Select the Application to be backed up->Next
Type the name for the backup and select the destination for the file->Finish

The file created will be the name you specified with a .APA extension. This file contains the entire project. Copy that file to the destination computer and run the Application Manager again. This time instead of Backup Applications, Select Restore Application.

That is all that is needed.

If you are using RSView32 then go to Start/Programs/Rockwell Software/RSView32 Tools and run the transport utility. This does the same thing but is only for RSView32.

OG

Thanks for the help. I'll give it a try and let you know how it turns out. BTW, I'm running RSView32. I'll try to give more complete info next time.

RANT ALERT: