Help with automatic belt tracking system - belt conveyor

LJAM

Hi all,

I am designing an ‘automatic steering system’ for a flat belt feeder (belt conveyor).

The flat profile of the belt and the lumpy nature of ore can cause the belt to go of track (due to the forces applied by lumps loaded toward the edges of the belt). The automatic steering system shall detect the belt drifting from alignment and take corrective action.

In industries like printing, paper, textiles, tire & rubber, etc this type of system is known as ‘web guiding’ system. Unfortunately, I have no knowledge of similar systems for belt conveyors (mining).

The biggest challenge (I believe) is to find a sensor that reliably detects the drifting of the belt (at the edges):

· Thickness ~ 48mm

· Width 2600mm

· Length ~ 120m (conveyor length ~60m)

· Maximum lateral movement allowed: 130mm (both sides)

If any of you have come across a similar application for mine conveyors, I would greatly appreciate if you could share the details of your experience with me.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

LJAM

pulley skewing (± 5º) mechanism

I envisage that to be a skewing mechanism at the tail-end pulley (driven by a linear actuator) ... although I am not too concern with this bit right now

Hi

Far as I know there is 2 kind of sensors.
1.You can use Analog Ultra sonic sensor (Transmiter and Reciver)
When the beam is coverd or not coverd you need to correct.
The analog give you how much you need.
2.You can use 2 photo eye which install very close one each other on the edge of the belt.
If 1 is on and 2 if off evry thing is OK
If both of them is ON or OFF you need to correct.
The corrction mecanisim can be rotate shaft or side guide.
This can not work for high speed belt.
Important thing:
The belt create static electricity and when the power discharge its damage the sensors and the PLC.
If you need more help feel free to PM me.

All the best