Can the program of a Moeller PS4-111-DR1 be edited?

bdhaan

After searching all over the internet I still have a couple of questions regarding the Moeller PS4-111-DR1.

This PLC is build into an automated mixer that is used in the laboratory of the company that I work for. It is used to have the mixer mix cement pastes in standardised ways. A much used recipe for example is: mix water and cement at low speed for 30 seconds, add sand during the next 30 seconds, mix for 60 seconds at high speed, stop for 30 seconds and mix again at high speed for 60 seconds.

The mixer is still working fine after many years of use. Unfortunately the standard on how to test cements has been changed a little bit. In the new standard the time during which the mixer has to stop is extended from 30 seconds to 60 seconds. When we asked the supplier of the mixer to update the program to make it comply with the standard again we were told that this is not possible.

Since I have some experience with PLC’s (Siemens S5 and S7) I found this hard to believe and decided to investigate the possibilities for changing the program myself. So far I found out that I need the programming software Sucosoft S30-S3 and the connection cable ZB4-501-UM1 to do this. I have the possibility to buy both second-hand for little money now, but before I do so I want to be sure that what I want is possible.

In your forum I read that for some Moeller PLC’s it is not possible to download the program from the PLC and edit it without owning an original copy of the program. Can somebody tell me if this is correct and if I have this problem with our PS4-111-DR as well?

I am also offered a programming device PRG3 v1.7 to edit the software of the PLC. Does the device have the same problem (original program needed for editting)?

The last question that I would like to have an answer to is if connection cable ZB4-501-UM1 is the right one. Sometimes the cable for our PLC is called ZB3-501-UM1. Are both cables the same?