Transistor Vs Relay Outputs

ABTech

I am new to PLC in the sense that I started my current job just over a year ago withouth any knowledge of PLC systems. I have picked up all that I know so far. Which is not a lot by watching others and also by doing an apprenticeship where I am in college 1 day per week. Unfortunatly PLC is not covered in my course. Basicly I have no idea as to which output is better. So if someone could enlighten me towards which is suited and generaly not used for different applications I would be greatfull.

I have been wondering this as well. As far as I have been able to gather, a relay output is an actual switch that has a current rating associated with it. The transtor is a digital on/off signal.

if i understand correctly, if you are going to be controling something like a pump that draws say 10 Amps, you will not want to use your plc relay to control the on/off switch to this pump as plc relays are rated at .5 Amps. in this situation, it would be better to have a transistor give an on/off signal to a relay (purchased separately) that is rated for 10 Amps.

I have been wondering if I have this correct. Could someone back me up and/or pwn me like a noob?

The biggest advantage to transistor outputs is that they have no moving parts, so they are rated for a larger number of cycles than contact outputs. A transistor output module is generally less expensive than a contact output module with the same number of outputs, although the price difference is probably not a significant percentage of the total cost of the controls.