Hi i'm new need help please with: unitary, modualr and rack PLC sytems.

johnrh89

Hi, i am new to Electronics and PLC systems and this website i have been searching for hours to find an answer to a couple of questions from college but can not find anything useful. Could someone please help to direct me to the answer or answer it themselves? Question 1) Explain the difference between Unitary, Modular and Rack PLC sytstems, include diagrams to aid your explanations.

Question 2) Explain which of the three types of PLC is best suited to the following apllications:
a)washing machine controler
b)traffic junction controller which can be used on many different traffic junction layouts. and..
c)Controller for a factory manufacturing a product that is assembled gradually as each part is produced. the production lines producing the parts are located in different parts of a large building.

Question 3)Obtain the manufaturers data sheet for one output device that could be used by a PLC in a control application Explain how each device operates and what it could be used for.

I know it's alot but if you can help with anything it would be MUCH appreciated! Thanks John

You couldn't possibly have done an exhaustive search. This question gets asked several times a year.

Question 1
Here are some hints:
1. Unitary, base word is Uni- which means one.

2. Modular, made up of modules. More or less the opposite of one wouldn't you say?

3. Rack, picture a rack, same as a rack mounted computer, with a PLC in it. What do you suppose sits in the rack (Its related to question 3)?

Question 2 you can do once you answer question 1.

Question 3 can be answered by going to a PLC manufacturer's site and browsing for a while in their downloads or manual section.

thanks for the replys i have solved the 1st question using the site from Tom Jenkins(cheers!) for my second question would i be right in saying that you use unitary for a modular for b and rack for c?

Hi johnrh89.

Questions to you: