Load cell+Mitsubishi FX1n(or 2n)

karlag

Hi evrebody! I got new project with Mitsubishi FX1n(but could be 2N) and load cell...now looking for anolog.to digit. converter.
Scaling range is 0-66lb +/- 0.002lb. Planning to use FX2N-4AD A/D converter which hase max.resolution of 12bits.Anlog range of
-10to10 V DC (Resol. 5v ) or -20 to 20mA. I have no experience with load cells .Could you tell me if it is right choose?

Your scaling resolution is going to cause problems. You state that the full range of the load cells needs to be 0 - 66lb, with 0.002Lb of resolution? That translates to 66lb/0.002 = 30,000 increments. 12 bits of analog resolution will only give you 2048 increments, therefore , for a 66lb load cell range, the smallest unit of measurement will be 66/2048 = 0.032 lbs of increments, more than 10 times the resolution you require.

Ian

Thank you! What is goinig to be the max. unit? And what would you advise for this scaling resolution?
Thanks again!

karlag said:
Thank you! What is goinig to be the max. unit? And what would you advise for this scaling resolution?
Thanks again!

What is the application?
Is this a hopper with 3 suspended S- Beam style loadcells, or a small platform scale?

There are some basic questions that need to be answered such as:
- total live weight, the displayed weight range to be measured
- total dead weight, the weight of all pieces of equipment that are part of the scale
- type of accuracy required
- Legal for Trade application

To determine system resolution, you need to know the total capacities of all load cells, then divide the total by 4000 counts. That is a typical formula we used to use at a scale company I worked at.

Any good off the shelf load cell transmitter can give you a load cell to 4-20ma output signal, but if the scale application is wrong, it does not matter how accurate your transmitter and PLC inputs are.

Ian