Up/Down Counters

cucgs

Alright, I've read another post where it was said that you don't mind helping students, but you don't hand out freebees. Well, I'm a student in need of help. I'm trying my best to find the answer, but I'm not doing so well. I'd appriciate some help.

The Question: When using an up/down counter with a preset value of 10, what would happen if 11 pulses come into the counter before it is reset? What happens to the extra pulse?

The only info. I can find is "Again note that the counter accumulated value ONLY changes at the off to on transition of the pulse input. "

My interpretation is that the counter would change at 10, so it should never get to 11. However, the wording of the question implies that I am wrong. I can't find anyother relivent info.

Any help? :( <-----Looking sad in hope that you will take pity on me

Well! I dont know if i answer your question but this is what I have seen happening when I use RS logix 500..which is that..if you dont resent the counter..and a pulse comes in..the done bit goes true at say ur preset value..but the accumulator increments. This maybe becos of the fact that in the scan cycle the rung stays true to increment the accumulator.

This one goes to eleven.

Hey, cucgs, it sounds like you're thinking it through, and you cared enough to spell all your words correctly.

When the accumulated number of counts equals the preset value of the counter (*.ACC = *.PRE, in the vernacular nomenclature), the Done bit is set.

If a RESET instruction is not given for this Counter before the next counting pulse (0 -> 1 transition), then the counter's accumulated value simply increments by one when that pulse arrives. The DN bit stays on, no matter how much higher the Accumulated value gets, until the RESET instruction is given.