SAIA Programmed with S7?

SNK

I have read that the SAIA line of PCD2,4 and 5 can be programmed using S7. Has anyone had experience doing this?

I have become involved in a SAIA PCD2-PCD4 system and need to diagnose some faults. I have downloaded the SAIA PG5 software (trial for 90Days) but I have read about using S7 for the same purpose. The PG5 seems like a neat software to use. It is using graphical user interface, similar to Modicon Concept.

Does anyone have any insight?

Hello SNK.

First a disclaimer: I have zero experience with Saia.

This webpage says that the PCD1 and PCD2 models can be programmed with STEP7:
http://www.saia-burgess.com/2302/2303/2304/3412/3359/3363/3367.asp
It indirectly says that it's special versions of the two models.
For the other models it looks like only the PG5 software can be used for programming.

Thanks Jesper. I guess that I will have to get into the PG5 software.
It is really a challenge to understand all of the different software on the market today.
Every month, it seems that a new machine arrives with a new OS. Siemens/AB/SAIA/LG/OMRON/YASKAWA...the list goes on and on.
How does everyone else deal with this?
I think that I am at the end of "learning NEW" stuff. It seems like it isn't really worth it......
You end up getting more frustrated in the long run....

If I interpret your post correctly, then you are working at an "end-user", and this end-user receives machinery from sub-suppliers.
And you are working as a maintenance tech with the machinery.

I think that as an end-user, it must be a requirement that sufficient diagnostics be a part of the total package. In other words, you shouldnt be required to go online with a PLC in order to troubleshoot the workings of the machine. And of course the PLC and HMI programs shall so tested and debugged that you will not experience an internal error in the program.