software design

Jim Yeary

I have been practicing writing code for a few months. Got the traffic light, a soda vending machine and a few others. In the end they all worked. My next adventure is an elevator. One thing I noticed was that as I added features to my soda machine I started having to add flags so different parts don't interfere with each other. Flags, flags everywhere!!!!!!!! I was told that this is not a good practice. My question is where can I find information on how to design the software before you start. Is a flow chart enough or are there other ways to avoid the last minute blast of flags?

Welcome Professor Jack! So often your material has been quoted on good quality design practice and creating good foundations in PLC knowledge. Feel free to jump in there and comment anytime!

Welcome Professor Hugh Jack

Professor Hugh Jack. :)
I am wonder when you are here.
Also,I quite very glad and happy to see you on PLCS.net
Your's document very nice for us.
Thank you a lot for your's kindness.

Respectively,

Platootod

welcome prof hugh.jpg

Back to original question

You will no doubt be wanting to move onto bigger and more complex programs in the future.
If this is so then I would advice the following:-

1. Write down in the shortest ammount possible the goal of the project. This helps to keep the focus.

2. Enlarge this and create a FDS Function Design Specification.

3. Create a list of 'What if' and actions required. Add a tick box to use later.

4. Create a flow diagram showing the main parts, using only a single page. This is hard to do using the single page constraint but worth it.

5. Sometimes construction of timing diagrams can be an aid.

6. Break down each section of the master flow diagram into smaller units. Look for units that are almost identical. With slight modification you could then use a common function block for the task.