Newbie Question of the day

EmesiS

Ok here is a simple newbie question. Quick rundown, I'm writing a program for a batching system and the problem I'm having is with an audible alarm and indicator light. Once a certain process is finished I need the alarm and light to come on to notify the operator to add ingredients by hand. So I want the alarm to signal and when the operator adds by hand then he pushes the lighted PB turning the light and alarm off and the program continues to the next process. The problem is the rungs before these are staying true due to a timer in the logic.
This should be a simple process but I'm not an experienced programmer so this one has me stumped. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Use what is referred to as "State Logic'. This is applicable to any plc or processor. You must think about your process and understand all decisions that need to be made throughout the process.
In State Logic, you make a certain condition ENTER THE STATE (Latch). Once in the state, you do whatever logic that is required. Once that STATE is nearing an end, YOU MUST DO SOMETHING to LEAVE THE STATE. (Unlatch)
Your logic will be comprised of many states. Enter the State, unlatch the last state, command logic, then leave the state.
You must Psuedo code your logic before attempting to write your logic in any software environment.

I'm using just a Micrologix 1000. Company wanted to go as cheap as possible so I used what was available in the shop. SNK...I thought out the process but getting the logic to do what I want is the problem :) I am using latch and unlatch but as I said before in the rung prior there is a timer that keeps the rung true, so the latch just latches again. Sometimes it is hard to explain in words what is going on in the brain. I will post the code later when I get it to a postable state. Thanks for the replies.....