Anyone familar with Yaskawa F7 drive?

LoneGunman

I'm an electrician with just about zero experience on VFD's. A customer of ours purchased the f7, remote and motor, it was supposed to be already programmed. After hooking everything up, I can start the motor from the remote but I cannot adjust the speed, the speed stays constant at what I would think to be about 5hz no matter which way I turn the speed adjustment.

I called the company who sold it, they insisted it was programmed and that it was a wiring issue, I was not the one who initially wired it so I double checked, everythings wire correctly. I called Yaskawa tech support, they said that it sounded like a programming issue. I had the manual printed out and called tech support again, due to my inexperience with VFD's they pretty much told me I was on my own. I reccomended our client call someone else who has experience on this drive, they called around and we did also, neither of us could find someone locally.

Does anyone have any idea what I need to do to get this drive functioning? I'm reading the manual now but could obviously use some help.

Thanks in advance for any assistance anyone can give.

Brian

I have worked on a couple of these drives, and I would have to agree it is a programming issue. From what you are explaining you are trying to control the VFD from the key pad. If this is so, simply change the correct parameter to do so. You Have a couple of options, and they should be listed in the manual.

Thank you for replying. I'm trying to control the VFD from a remote not the keypad. From the remote I can start and stop the motor but cannot adjust the speed,speed stays at what I estimate to be around 5hz. Theres no keypad on the remote just and on button, off button and the speed control knob which does nothing when I turn it.

I can adjust the speed up and down from the keypad on the outside of the drive with no problem.