Printing from a PLC

ABTech

Hi. I have been presented with the task of finding out a way to print from a PLC. We use Siemens PLC but as yet have not picked a PLC to use as we are still in the discussion stage of what to use. Does anyone have any experiance of printing from a PLC or is it eaiser to use a HMI and then print the screen. All help on this one would be appreciated as I have no knowledge of this application at all. Also what type of printer would be needed for this application.

Regards

Jonathan Davies

Some HMIs have USB ports that will plug right into a printer
On Ethernet look for something that can do a socket connection
For serial look at POS(Point of Service) printers

Hello ABTech;

If you are using S7-300/400 PLCs, you can set up a CP340/441 to connect to a serial RS-232 printer. Special blocks come with the parametrization software to enable connection and to set up print jobs. I remember we did it with a old dot-matrix Okidata printer; someone else I worked with told me recently he did it with a serial ink-jet printer, from HP I believe. In both cases the print jobs are triggered by PLC logic; quite starightforward, actually.

Hope this helps,
Daniel Chartier

I have done printing many times with Omron PLCs. It can be done using the built-in RS232C port in the CPU or the Serial Communication Units. You need to set proper communication parameters and use the TXD instruction or Protocol Macros. The applications were mainly Event Printing and Batch reports.

I mainly used Epson dot matrix printers (LX800, LX300 and UM series POS printers) with serial port. Their ESC/P commands can be used for text formatting like making the text bold or underligned or changing the color etc.

With the CS/CJ/CP series of PLCs it is easier because of the ASCII string processing instructions.
SVN