Need to pause an output on an AB 1000

Leon Schon

I need to start a timed output with a P.B. using an AB 1000 and be able to pause it at any time with a P.B., have it then restart it's remaining preset time period with the same P.B. Such as the PLC preset time is 4 hours, pause it for any length of time then come back and reset it and the total run time would only be for 4 hours. I am new at this and only can program contacts, outputs timers and counters as yet. Any help would be appreciated. THANKS

That's a good question, Leon. With the MicroLogix 1000 there is an easy answer; I think it will be instructive for one of the other experts to show how this is done when there is not a specific instruction for the function.

In the MicroLogix and SLC-500 controllers there is a variation on the TON timer instruction callled the Retentive Timer On (RTO).

This timer retains it's accumulated value even when the input conditions become false, or the controller is powered down. It doesn't reset until you use a RES instruction in logic.

The bit that indicates that the timer is running is called the "Timer Timing" bit, which is addressed with the mnemonic ".TT".

Using the same pushbutton to start, pause, and reset the timer is a simple flip-flop logic, and I'll leave that to your research on this site (there is an excellent tutorial to which I refer often).

[attachment]

rto_example.gif

Thanks Ken

This is my first experience with this site, and it is Great, I will try what you suggested. Thanks for the print example also. This site is what the world is all about, people helping people.

Leon

gosh ken is fast - see if this will work - you didn't say how you wanted to reset it so i took a guess - once the time is up, just push the button to go again -

[attachment]

edit PS - somehow i got the impression that leon is not a student - if he is, i'm sorry for the silver platter approach - i didn't mean to thwart the educational process -

1 stop and go.jpg

Last edited:
Ron,