TDC3000 DH+ to ControlLogix

Ken Roach

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Flyers posted this to an old thread, and I'm putting it into a new thread to separate the issues and questions.

I'm new to CLX, this is something new to me, I do not know the CLX module can work as bridge!

Can we bridge a controlnet (AB CLX) with a DHRIO module into KF2 to communicate with Honeywell DCS on serial?

CLX (CNET) ---- CNET+DHRIO(bridge) ---- KF2 ---- Honeywell DCS (TDC 3000).

Existing is PLC5 --- KF2 ---- Honeywell DCS (TDC3000).
We do not want to change anything on the KF2 & Honeywell, as DCS is beyond our job scope

The ControlLogix can emulate PLC-5 messaging on a DF1 or DH+ channel by configuring INT or REAL tag arrays to correspond with particular PLC-5 type data files.

The complication is when you use a relatively simplistic interface like that provided by the TDC3000. The DF1 commands that the TDC3000 sends to the 1770-KF2 module can only communicate with a DH+ node on that particular DH+ network and has no ability to bridge to another DH+ network.

That's why you can't go TDC3000 -> 1770-KF2 -> 1756-DHRIO -> 1756-CNB -> ControlNet -> 1756-CNB -> ControlLogix CPU.

All the "hops" past the 1756-DHRIO would require a remote DH+ packet, which the TDC3000 does not (to the best of my knowledge) support, since it's interface was built to communicate with local PLC-2, PLC-3, and PLC-5 controllers on DH+.

The 1756-DHRIO does have a "default Slot" parameter, which will allow local DH+ packets to be routed to one CPU in the same chassis as the 1756-DHRIO. If you can put the 1756-DHRIO in the same chassis as the CPU (and eliminate the ControlNet segment), then this interface can work.

Ken Bridging is possible only thing the DCS won't read CLX tag architecture
DH.JPG