Basic PID examples

lawebster

I am relatively new to ladder programming and was wondering if anyone had example code (I am using RSLogix5) of flow control using a PID function? I have read all the AB docs but still have questions, mainly how to do the code the right way. I basically understand PID and tuning ideas but my shortfail is coding it.

Any examples, nudges, comments, etc is appreciated.

Thanks!

there is lots of examples on this site do a search also there is a good article from Ron Beauford with a full explaination of how PID works

Greetings lawebster ...

and welcome to the forum ... I'm teaching this week - so I won't have too much time to help - but here are some "just-getting-started" tips on your project ...

depending on which PLC-5 processor you're using, different "flavors" of PID are available ... this approach is pretty much "plain vanilla" - without some of the most confusing bells-and-whistles of some of the other methods ...

pid101_a.JPG

pid101_b.JPG

the settings that I've highlighted in yellow are the most important ones if you're just getting started ... ALL of the values - and ALL of the addresses - that I've entered are strictly for purposes of example ... we won't be able to give you any detailed information until you tell us a LOT more about your system ...

we look forward to hearing from you again soon ...

and thanks to everyone for the kind "referrals" ...

Thanks for all the info from everyone, I appreciate it. I come from an IT background and am just learning ladder logic. Have a little bit of instrumentation knowledge, have worked with various HMI's, Bristol controllers etc so I think I can pick it up. I just want to make sure I am taking the right approach to the code, and unfortunately I was "volunteered" for this project and told we need it done yesterday.

Here is more background of what I am trying to do:

Using an AB Enhanced PLC-5/20 16384 mem. and AB 1794 remote I/O