program help

roy

R
Hi. I am relatively new to PLC programming and I am wondering if somebody can point me in to right direction on this project.
I have four compressors in a geothermal heating and cooling application. I’m using a DL06 c/w a DV1000. I have a 4-20 ma temperature sensor on a storage tank sensing water temp and storing in v-mem location. I have set points cut-in Comp #1 and cut-out Comp #1 and so forth to Cut-in/out #4 stored in v-mem, displayed and changeable on the DV-1000.
My problem: #1 and 2 compressors continue to get long hours while #3 and 4 are hardly getting any.
Can someone advise me on how to use timers and/or counters to ensure all compressors get hours, and if only 1 or 2 compressors are needed that they operate only 12 hours and move to the next one.
Would another option be to use the hours accumulated on compressors to change compressors and get even hour’s on-time?
Any help will be appreciated.

Hi Roy

Nots ure on the PLC you are using but here is how I would approach the problem.

You need to have a timer to run for 12 hours.

Create 4 shift registers four bits long.

Initially set the four registers such that each as a different bit set.

When the timer elapes have the shift resister rotates round to the right. This makes bit 0 move to bit 3. Hence the last compressor on duty now becomes the least likely to be started.

For each compressor look at the bit position and then use this to determine the pressure at which these cut in.
Remember to include steps to raise the operation pressure of stanby compressors in case of duty compressor failure.

Man... I had to kick-in the "Way-Back-Machine" to find this one.

It's not exactly what you asked for but I think you should find it close!

http://www.plcs.net/dcforum/DCForumID5/1050.html

That post, made by me so long ago, is for a "Bubble Sort" mechanism which tracks "Most-Time", "Least-Time", "Standby" and "Faulted".

I made an error in that post - it is corrected in my following post.