HMI for a "dummy"

novice

I'm new to HMI programming/design. Had a very short crash course but need some refresher directions. I have to implement a PLC (RSLogix 500) file into HMI display, and am wondering how to create a database of tagnames. Do I do it in RSLogix or in RSView? How do I do Communication Setup to create Local and Target shortcuts for the PLC database? Thanks.

Which RSView are you going to use? RSView Studio for ME is my guess but if it is RSView 32 I haven't used that in quite a long time.

First off, is you PLC program written? If so, have you created symbols for your data files? In RSLogix I mean. If so, then you can import these into RSView studio.

Create a new project in RSView studio, or open one that you have already created, double click the HMI tags/tags tab, which opens your tag editor.

NOTE: The choices on your main toolbar will change and you may not notice this! On the top toolbar of the RSView studio window click edit. The drop down will expose "other databases". Select this and type in the info requested.

I am going from memory but I think the folder name is required, the rslinx topic is the same name as the shortcut you need to create in the RSLinx enterprise configuration tab. For the RSLinx Entertprise shortcut (topic) name I usually use the processor name which is our job number.

Then browse to your RSLogix 500 file and all of your symbols should show up in the window.

If you need more details or hit a stumbling block, let us know.

Good luck

Marc

I think it is rsview me you can export you rslogix database & import into rsview me file using tag database import/export utility

Praveen,

The tag import utitlity works as well, but it forces an import of all tags, if you have a large program and only want specific tags for the HMI, use the method I listed above, you can select individual tags or groups of tags via a filter and only import what you need. It works pretty well and can be done in a couple of different ways.

Marc