CompactLogix To SLC5/03 Comms

karlsigl

I am a little unclear on the msg type and path to use to read information from a SLC 5/03 into a Compact Logix. I have been sucessful in configuring communications using the ethernet port on the compact logix and SLC 5/05 but this is the first time I've tried to use the serial port on the Compact Logix.

I have never done it before but....

The path for your message in the CLX should be 2,1
Where 2=out the serial port of the controller, 1=the DF1 node number of the SLC. It would be an SLC typed read or write message.

I am not sure of the cable you need for this. Maybe Null modem maybe not? I am sure someone on here will know.

RSL

Thanks for the information. I have tried 2,5 (5 is the node ID of the SLC) but no comms yet. I am curios as to why the light on CH0 of the compact logix doesn't light up when it is suppose to be attempting communications.

BTW, the path I tried was Local,2,5

Are you able to browse to it when you configure the message?

CAn you enter just 2,5?

What error is being generated in you message block?

RSL

I get an the error 'Link Address Not available'. I tried to enter just 2,5 into the path but it didn't like that. I did try and browse to the SLC but it doesn't show up in the browse window... I know the comm path is OK because RS Linx sees the SLC as a device off the Processors' DF1 port on CH0

Thanks again for the advise
Karl

How exactly are your two controllers connected together ? Depending on the model, the CompactLogix may have one or two serial ports, and the SLC-5/03 has a DH485 port and an RS232 port.

What are the protocol and port configurations of the two ports that are connected ?

You don't want the "Local" segment in the message's CIP Path string, because that sends a message to the I/O bus, like if you were sending a message out a DeviceNet scanner.

You want the first number in the Path string to be "2" for serial channel 1, and "3" for serial channel 2.