Networking PLCs

dkontod1

Dear all,

First of all, let me tell you that I'm new to anything that has to do with PLCs. I just started to get familiarised with the concept and I would like to know more.

The reason I'm contacting you is to collect some information on if and how is it possible to make a PLC network over the ethernet. The idea is to have a LAN of PLCs, each one with their own IP address, on which I can configure and control my PLCs, using a single PC. This would replace an existing network of PLCs, individually wired to a PC, which is bulky and messy.

So I can think of a couple of questions to start with..
1. How can I interface a PLC to an ethernet?
2. What kind of network topology would suit such a configuration?
3. How can I make my network vendor independent, i.e. using different PLCs manufacturers on the same network?
4. Do I need to develop a custom control software, or could this be an off-the-shelf item?

Well, that would do for now. Any suggestions are welcome and I mean any!!!

Regards,

Dimitris

1. i think every PLC manufacturer is offering some interface for ethernet, but the differecens are in inner communication protocol format

2. ethernet network has 'only one topology'.... just have a network spider with swtiches/hubs/servers and nodes connected anywhere - so it's same than you build network from PC's - everything is just IP adress

3. this may be less or more difficult... in depency od what PLC manufacturer(s) you want to choose... but imho there is way to use a PC as transmission station between different PLC's. with proper software

4. i think where are plenty of OPC and other comm server drivers available on the market, so when proper software with multiple platform driver selected... there would not be reason to write your own

...maybe if you would be more hardware specific, you will get better answer...

marius said: