Allen-Bradley PLC-5 ethernet controller question

bwalter

I know almost nothing about PLC's (I'm a network engineer), however, I have a question I'm hoping someone might be able to answer for me... as it has been placed in front of me as "my problem". We have an Allen-Bradley PLC-5 that runs a convayer system. The triggers for the PLC come from a database and they are connected via ethernet through a standard ethernet switch (Cisco Catalyst switch, Layer 3 switching). It is all local area network, there is no issues as far as latency from a WAN. The problem is the PLC-5's ethernet interface seems be dropping data packets and not re-transmitting them. Is this a common thing for them to do?? If so is there a way to fix this? Our convayer system vendor is blaming our network for the dropped packets, however, as hard as I try I can't seem to stop the device from dropping packets. I've gone through a few of the AUI to RJ45 tranceivers on the PLC itself, that seems to fix it for a little bit but then it's back to normal. I can't figure out why I have no problem with any other devices on the network except those that talk directly to the PLC. The entire network itself is less then 6 months old. It's gotten so bad that it's sometimes loosing large chunks of data (i.e. barcode information from the items on the convayer belt aren't being transmitted to the database). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Bradley D. Walter

Help me understand which way data is going between the database and the PLC. Are database functions triggering writes to the PLC, or is the PLC using message instructions in it's logic program to write to the database (or both !). Do you know which direction the data transfer is failing ?

What kind of driver is the database using to interface to the PLC-5 ? If it's RSLinx, then you can expect some help from Rockwell. If it's "we wrote our own but we're certain it's A-B's problem", then maybe a little less help.