RSLOGIX-500 Simulator advice

stevelawson

Hi guys.

I downloaded the 15 day free trial of the RSLOGIX-500 over the weekend and so far, i am pretty impressed. However, i do have a couple of questions to ask anyone who has this tool.

What i need to know is, if you buy the package, do you get a solution to each of the exercises? I have managed the Garage Door and Silo tasks easy enough, but some of the later exercises will be new to me, a finished example would possibly help me to understand it.

How close does the RSLOGIX-500 mimic the real Software, would a prospective employer accept it has real training in your opinion?

Also, wheres the best place to purchase it? I noticed the price is always in Dollars.

I have no experience of the Allen Bradley platform and would really like to learn a bit about it.

Many thanks.

Steve.

Steve,

I assume you are talking about LogixPro from The Learning Pit. (RSLogix500 is the real programming software from Allen-Bradley.) I have used LogixPro as well as RSLogix, and I can say that it is a decent tool for learning Allen-Bradley PLCs. However, keep in mind that there are limitations. For example, LogixPro only provides a small subset of the instructions available on SLC/Micrologix processors. Also, I have found that in some cases it allows you to do things that would not be allowed in the real software. (One example that comes to mind is putting a value larger than 32767 into the preset value of a timer or counter.) Things like that could trip you up when making the transition from LogixPro to a real-world system.