Plc5/25

zxninja

Hi there, I just bought a PLC 5/25 with rack and cards. I am a student in PLC's and am going to hook this up at home but, I cant find out the link it uses between my PC and the processor. I was just wondering if it uses a normal connection or an eithernet cable. I am waiting for it to arrive and want to make sure I have the right wires to hook it up. Any help would be great. Thanks

plc5-25.jpg

That connector only looks like RS-232; it's actually "Peer Communication Link" (PCL), also known as Data Highway Plus.

The interface cards aren't cheap; a card for your laptop is about $1400 and for your desktop about the same. The RS-232 serial interface box, called the 1770-KF2, costs about $3000 !

That's one of the reasons why the newer PLC-5's have RS-232 ports on them: the cost to simply download a program to the old controllers is prohibitive for simple maintenance tasks.

If you bought that thing surplus, you're going to also want to search for 1784-KT/B or 1784-KTX cards (and be sure your PC has an ISA slot available).

What are you going to use for programming software ?

Thanks for the speedy reply Ken, we use RS logix5 for our programing software. If I find a A/B PLC5/11, 5/20 or 5/30, can run a simple cord from my PC? Or another processor that uses an eithernet cable? I am not lookin to spend all that cash for a connection. Thanks

You will need to purchase software, ie; 6200 or RSLogix5 and you could use a 1784-PCMK card (PCMCIA) with a 1784-PCM5 cable. Also if you use the PCMCIA sockets on your laptop you will need card & Socket service software, if it didn't come with your laptop, Allen-Bradley sells Cardware but you can get Cardsoft on the Internet for free.