Device net

jeebusmn

Hi,

I am a noob so I apologize if these are kind of silly questions. I am working for a company that has to provide controls ethanol refinery. A third party is setting up DeltaV and the details behind the process and our company is setting up all the instrumentation required. I just want to lay this out as I understand it so if anyone sees anything that is incorrect I can be corrected.

DeltaV is going to interact with the AB PLC uing DeviceNet. DeviceNet is a protocol and system for fieldbus communication and is digital opposed to older 4-20 mA analog systems.

To get your PLC, to communicate with a DeviceNet system you need

1. compatible PLC and a scanner card for that PLC

2. DeltaV or some other compatible DCS system

3. Cables and DeviceNet nodes

Questions I have with the capabilities with the system is

1. I have read on bulletin boards that DeviceNet is flaky with allen-bradley systems? Is this true or is this largely due to improper implementation?

2. What information about the instrumentation can be gathered by DeltaV other than measurement data? Can On and Off state information be relayed? What other information can be relayed to DeltaV?

3. How reliable in general is DeviceNet?

I don’t have any experience and am just in the beginning of my looksie in this area so forgive me if some of these are ‘duh’ questions. Any links to good forums or sites would be appreciated, too.

Doug

[email protected]

Last edited:
Only instances where I have seen D-NET being flakey is due to one bad connector somewhere on the trunk. Because D-NET requires terminating resistors at either end of the trunk the whole network can be brought down because of the flaky connection.