DeviceNet PanelView600

Alex Pel

Hi everybody.

I have no experience with DeviceNet. I have to connect PanelView600 with D-Net to AB SLC 5/05 controller. I already managed to get on-line from RSNetWorx to scanner by “Pass-trough”. Now my problem is the PanelView has a comm. error. On the scanner “Module – red fleshing” (bad configuration) and “92” (no power) I don’t have a D-Net cable. I used shielded two twisted pairs: - one pair for power, another for signal. I didn’t put any resistors. A cable length is 2 m. Also I don’t have a Net power supply.

So is it my wiring problem or maybe I am missing something in configuration?

Thanks.

Alex Pel said:
Hi everybody.

I have no experience with DeviceNet. I have to connect PanelView600 with D-Net to AB SLC 5/05 controller. I already managed to get on-line from RSNetWorx to scanner by “Pass-trough”. Now my problem is the PanelView has a comm. error. On the scanner “Module – red fleshing” (bad configuration) and “92” (no power) I don’t have a D-Net cable. I used shielded two twisted pairs: - one pair for power, another for signal. I didn’t put any resistors. A cable length is 2 m. Also I don’t have a Net power supply.

So is it my wiring problem or maybe I am missing something in configuration?

Thanks.

DeviceNet requires a power supply, and you need the terminating resistors

I knew about it but I saw an existing wiring just PLC and HMI without neither power supply nor terminating resistors? That is old, not operating panel. Maybe someone removed resistors but there is no any open wire from power supply. Before to order 2 m cable, power supply and resistors I would like to know: - maybe someone had successfully connected one device without power supply?

Thanks.

Alex Pel said: