Micrologix 1000 outputs do not activate

df61

Hello,

I have an apparently stupid problem with a couple of Micrologix 1000s I got on eBay. One has 4 outputs and the other has 6. Just for testing, I wrote a little program that turns the outputs on one at a time, then resets everything and restarts. Worked fine on both, then after trying to interface them with a Panelview 300, which I can't manage to do as well, and I don't know why, the outputs on the 4 output Micro stopped working. The 6 output Micro works fine. If I go on line, the rungs controlling the outputs are true, but the outputs don't come on. If I force them, they do. Cleared memory and re-downloaded, no results. What am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance to anybody who might know the answer.

Hi, I forgot to say that I'm just learning these things. I had all my outputs controlled in the MAIN_PROG ladder. Then I chose to activate bits instead of directly activate the outputs. I added rungs that activated the outputs when such bits were on. Then I decided to move these additional rungs to a separate ladder, as I saw people doing a couple of times. I think it's a neat thing, instead of having outputs scattered across the program. I didn't add a JSR instruction calling the separate ladder, and that's why it didn't work. Now I have added it and it works. My question is, I think I saw complex programs where the MAIN_PROG ladder only had calls to a few subroutines, while there were other ladders which were running without being called in the main-prog ladder. Am i wrong? I need to find some good manual and read it. Thanks for the time.

First thing that comes to mind:

Make sure the rungs are in a ladder that is being executed. Either ladder 2, or a ladder that is jumped to.

I've made that mistake before. I had a seperate ladder for a bunch of lights, and none of them would work, even though the rungs were true. Turns out I forgot a JSR, and the program never entered that ladder at all.