RSView32 TrendX and Parameter Files

cntrlfrk

Is it possible to use Paramater Files to load tags into trends so I don't need a bunch of different trends? I'm kinda new to using parameter files and tag placeholders, but I'm trying to get to the point of having a standard pop-up start/stop faceplate, loop faceplate etc. and was curious about trending?

Thanks

FYI...As an update if anyone has interest in this.

I was able to use the trend in the RSView32 Graphics Library, but not the trend building tool in the toolbar. I just referenced the same parameter file I use for opening a generic faceplate and added tag descriptors and utilized some of the scrolling and axis controls from the library trend and it works great with any tag, each trend is identical, and each SP,CV,PV is the same color on each trend.

Now another question or two. Some of the loops I want to use with the generic faceplate/ trend do not allow Auto/manual control for the operators. Is there a way to add a line in the parameter file to control visibility of the A/M button?

Also, is there a way to truncate the tag so that only the final unique tag name will appear and not the whole path? For example, if my full tagname is Plant_A\System_B\Tank_C\LIC001, can I make only LIC001 appear on the faceplate or trend?

I have some answers for you but also questions. To be able to truncate the tag in the legend, you can simply write down what you what to be appearing. So instead of "Plant_A\System_B\Tank_C\LIC001", you can juste type LIC001 and it will work.

Now if you have a trend in a faceplate, how can you put a placeholder in the field "Model" when you select DataSource Historical and Local??? There is only a scrolling list, I cannot put any placeholder there...

Thanks

Thanks for the input Marie. The problem is, I want the trend/faceplate to be truly generic, so I can click on any data field on a display and up will pop a faceplate with all loop/ motor start-stop/ valve open-close controls.