SCL in S7

userxyz

Hi,

I write mostly in STL now, before a year ago I was a ladder man.

@ school I've learned VHDL (higher programminglanguage looking like SCL)

I have no experience in SCL...

When it's better to use SCL instead of STL ?
Can you monitor in SCL like in STL ?
Anyone has a good tutorial ?

Thanks in forward,

Regards,

Gerry

SCL - ideal for multi-dimension array processing. Online monitoring shows values in variables as lines of SCL are processed.

I'm a STL guy now after learn the way of manupilating DBs and ARs registers which other languages is not able to provide. It also take time to understand the limitation of changing the content of this registers under different situation of FB and FC calls.

SCL is very much similar to C or Pascal. Its a great tool with implementing PID control or matrix handling. But end of day, the SCL editor will convert the compiled codes into STL. To view it in SCL code in STL, please don't double click from Simatic Manager, simply just open it from LAD/STL/FBD editor.

Cheer,
^^

the SCL editor will convert the compiled codes into STL
Is this actually correct? I've always had a belief that the the SCL compiler behaves exactly the same as the STL compiler and the S7-Graph compiler etc. They all produce blocks of 'nearly' executable object code which is finally recompiled in the PLC CPU down to machine language. I don't know what form the object code is in (MC7?) but it so happens that the only editor capable of reading these object code blocks regardless of the compiler used to create them is the STL editor. Just because you can view the de-compiled block content using STL doesn't mean it's STL code that's in the block. Or can someone prove that SCL and others do genuinely generate STL instructions? If so, why don't they use better ones!?

Regards

Ken

Ken M said:
I don't know what form the object code is in (MC7?)