Communicating to an AB VFD from a Microcontroller

Hoffman

Hello all. I would like to control an AB PowerFlex 4 (AB Cat No. 22A-V1P5N104) using a Motorola 68HC12 microcontroller. I need some basic understanding on communication techniques used by the VFD. Put another way, how does a PLC communicate to a VFD?

I am new to PLCs and VFDs.

I’ll leave this information request open and vague until I get some response.

Thanks for your time.

Buddy I would love to help you, as I can gauge from the fact that you wan't a 68HC12 to communicate with an AB VFD that you must be in University. I have used the 68HC12 extensively, and used the Powerflex 70 a lot as well.

The thing being that the current AB setup kinda eliminates having an understanding for the protocol behind the communication. You are basically using RSNetworx/RSLinx to handle all you communications and the RSLogix5000/ other softwares to handle your programming.

What is your applciation? If it is not too intensive say using a VFD for simple Acceleration, Deceleration, stop points.....you might get away easily by using a simple Op-Amp circuit to convert your I/O's to 24V.

I'll worry about the microcontroller side.
I would like to know all of the available options the AB VFD has to offer me. From reading other's information it sounds like there are analog and digital communication forms, but I need much more specific information.

I would like to use the 68HC12 in place of a PLC, this is why I posed the question, "how does a PLC communicate to a VFD?"

I have the PowerFlex 4 user's manual here so don't be afraid to reference it in future discussions.

------------------------------
To get started, what do the acronyms SNK and SRC stand for and why are the two different wiring schemes used?

I would like to stay away from using/discussing the RS485 for now.