Interesting project tracking web weight

russrmartin

Hey guys, I have an application in which I need to track web weight for a certain distance, then add it to an accumulator. I've never done an application like this before. My thoughts were to divide the web into sections of 1 foot, then assign each foot of material a density. As the material reaches a certain point, I would add mass to an accumulater at a rate based on the density of the material in the selected 1 foot interval and the line speed. This seems like the simple way to do it. I'm just wondering what other options are out there, and if any are recommended or, if this method above should be steered away from for any particular reason. Thanks in advance.

Russ

Well, personally, I have no idea what a "web" is or how you would measure it's density (Im assuming it's variable?) You have also left out any hardware you might be using.

Yes, I have read this thread many times and all that comes to mind is the web of an I beam or something like that. What are you working with?

Are you trying to measure potato chips going into a seasoner? Or some product that is feeding another process? Like coffee beans from a hopper to a grinder.

For starters, you could measure the NO LOAD amps of the empty web, then the FULLY LOADED web amps then 1/2 of full load. You could then use the differences of the loading to determine weights.

By web, are you taling about a roll or strip of a flexible material?

How are you going to measure the density again?

How did you plan to measure the weight of a section at a time if it is all connected?

Why not measure the length and the accumulated weight as it is wound up or otherwise stored at the end of the process?

Give us more help understanding what you are actually doing and your responses will grow in quality and quantity...