Help Help Help Final Year Project

Student B

Hi All,

I hope all is well and that someone can help me with this problem; I am a final year Manufacturing Engineer student whose project has just been flipped on its head at the last moment.

So now my project specification has complete changed at the last minute and I have to now use a PLC to control my test rig automactically.

I am building a test rig which is measuring there variables;

Temperature,

Humidity and

Moisture Level

The rig is module and is stacked four high, so that each module is repeating.

The outputs for each module are;
  • 1 x set of PC Fans joined in parallel (Voltage 12DC)
  • 2 x Solenoid Valves (?)

Input Sensors
  • Temperature (40 – 90)
  • Humidity and (30 – 90)
  • Moisture Level (?)

The Rig has two pump devices which are run from the mains (240V), and also need be controlling, so may need a contactor not 100% sure. These are both outputs.

In total there will be 12 Inputs and 14 Outputs which need controlling.

I have never used a PLC before and only have basic knowledge in C programming.

So what I really am asking is what would someone who has experience in this sector use to control all the above mentioned. I do not have a huge budget either, so please keep cost in mind with suggestions.

I will need to edit the three variables after each experiment for each module.

So Module 1 will have temp set at 70c

Module 2 at 72c

Module 3 at 74c

Module 4 at 68c

And the other variables will be kept the same.

Then in the next set of experiments I will need to reprogram with new values etc.

The PLC will then look at the sensor check the value and then if not at set level turn actutor until value reached. It would be good if the PLC could record the three varaibles through out the expermients