Data Logging with AB PLC's

nhicks

My project: utilizing AB PLC's (Micrologix 1200?)- I need to log data from a modbus port, capturing about 8 different variables, every 5 minutes (or so,) for up to 2 hours (more is always better though!)
Im trying to determine a number of different things.
1. Can I get away with our standard Micrologix 1200, and some sort of third party device for logging?
2. Will the Micrologix 1500 with "data logging" capabilities work?
3. What kind of memory size am I looking at for 8 variables, captured approximately every 5 minutes for 2 hours. Or every 2 minutes for 2 hours?

Any help will be appreciated. Im new to all of this, and glady taking any advice I can!

Thanks
NH

The Micrologix 1100 has the same data logging features of the 1500 and has a built in Ethernet port. If you don't need the capablities of the 1500 it may be a better option.

We dont need the full 1500 for sure, its a very simple on/off control, other than the logging of the Digital Meter via the Modbus.
Could the 1200 suffice as well? We mainly use the 1200 and get a better price break on them compared to other AB equipment.

The 1100 is cheaper than the 1200 and has more capablities. You get the same price break. What are you going to do with the data once it is logged?

We are pulling information (8 different variables, V, A, KW, Freq, etc) from a Digital Multimeter that is attached thru a RS485-RS232 convert/modbus. I need to be able to store that information for each variable, at every 5 minute point, and store in some form. Then once the test is complete, the user will come along with a laptop and retrieve the information. The PLC powers off when the testing is complete, so if its possible to have it stored, that would be great. If not, we can have the customer keep power until data is retrieved. Im assuming ill need the RTC module, just for timing sake, as all variables will be compared to each other (for ex. V drop on a certian phase at time x.)

NH