Panasonic Hmi-plc

I am retro-fitting a manual punch press. I would like to add an automatic in-feed to the system. I am an advanced A/B programmer and have never used any of the panasonic automation equipment. Typically I have the ability to choose my own products but the customer would like to furnish the materials.To make a long story short... I need to use a panasonic FPX 14 I/O w/ transistor outs to create a pulse output to an "animatics smart motor" (Servo). The touchscreen will be used as an interface to enter "cut length" and "cut quantity". The system is very basic. I will use RS232 for comms to the touchscreen/plc and pulse output/input to the servo. The problem is that I have absolutely no experience with this equipment and my turn around time has to be farily quick ounce a start this project. I have read some sample code and most of what I have seen is in function block format. My biggest questions are: interfacing with the HMI to the PLC data tables/registers and getting the pulse output functions working properly. I have tries to contact Panasonic about the situation for tech support and I wasnt pleased with the service. I am just looking for someone with some experience basically get me started on the right foot. I am a programmer.. just no experience with this equipment. any advice/help/sample code would help! Thanks Guys!

If you are familiar with AB Panelview 550 monochrome touchscreen only display, then GT11 is something very close to it.
Major differences in GT11 are:
- Possibility to configure project for vertical (portrait) orientation of the screen.
- 3 selectable colors of backlit, flashing backlit and backlit off may be controlled from PLC.
- Embedded buzzer controllable from PLC (not loud enough for industrial shop though).
- Possibility to choose between keyboard screen or popup keyboard in the current screen.
- There is no separate Tag Editor. Double-click any object and all the PLC reference and format setup is right there.