How to size up Siemens S7-300 relay output module?

flyers

Hi guys,

I'm working on a proposal using Siemens S7-300 PLC, I'm new to Siemens. I wanted to put in a relay out put module, but referring to the manual, it has a few types like:

1) SM 322; DO 16 x Relay AC 120V. The AC 120V means what? Then at the rated load voltage it mentioned 24VDC to 120VDC & 48VAC to 230VAC, means if we supply 24VDC to 120VDC or 48VAC to 230VAC, it'll output the respective voltage?

Anyone can clarify me this? Appreciate it.
relay.JPG

Last edited:
Singapore_Mats said:
AC120 is what they use on ships, and in US and Taiwan.
I prefer to connect PLC output to a relay, and let the relay take the load.

1) 120V AC is refer to what? It's not their output load.

2) For AB PLC, their relay output (1746-OW16), can have output load of AV or AC, depends on the wiring. The OW16 did not mention anything on the 120V AC or 240V AC

AC 120V is the voltage to drive the relay coil.

The 24VDC to 120VDC is the allowed DC voltage range allowed across the contacts.

The 48VAC to 230VAC is the AC Voltage range allowed across the contacts.

Peter,

I don't think I'd like to see a PLC module that needed 120VAC to energise the relay coils! In Siemens S7-300 range all the relay modules require a 24VDC supply to energise the coils.

Flyers,

Peter is correct about the range of voltages which the relay contacts are rated to switch. I'm not quite sure why the -1HH01- module is described as "AC 120 V" because that is not a limit. It can certainly handle higher loads. In other literature I've got it's described as "120/230V" indicating, I guess, 120VDC max and 230VAC max.

Mats,

What do you see as the advantages and disadvantages of using external relays connected to a solid state output module, compared to using a module with built in relays?

Regards

Ken