Bowden Parts Washer CRB-4-160 & SLC 5/02

mlhem

I have a problem with an old Bowden Parts Washer, Model CRB-4-160 connected to an AB SLC 5/02 and a DTAM control panel. The CPU faulted and lost it's program. There does not seem to be any backup of the program. I was just wondering if anyone out there was familiar with this model. They are no longer made and it is very difficult to get support for them. I'm looking for a program that will work in it. I have RSLogix to load it if I can find one. I did find some programs for other models but it is diffult for me to edit these programs since I'm not a PLC programmer. I think the inputs in the programs I have will work but the outputs are all wrong. Is there an easy way to just change the output addresses in the program? I have a schematic of the actual outputs on the machine.

Depends on how big the program is and how they programmed it. I've learned some tricks over the years that would make just changing IO addresses much easier than the way I used to program. But, I would almost bet the whole farm that they didn't employ those methods then, either...

It might just be easier to start over with the program than to edit a program for a different machine that may or may not be compatible.

You don't have a print of the program or anything??

Maybe there is an EPROM in the CPU (there ought to be an EPROM).
Granted, the PLC should have loaded the program from the EPROM, but maybe the programmer didnt set S:1/10 "Load Memory Module on Memory Error".
You can try to use Comms.. EEPROM.. Load from EEPROM.

I am going out to try the load from EEPROM now. In the meantime, no I do not have a print of the program. Starting over and re-creating the program would be a very long process for me. I don't even know where to begin to do that. I'm just learning and I'm not even sure exactly how the machine is supposed to work. My "normal" job is in IT. The good news is that it is not a big program.