Need help - motor control

CWLeong

Hi everyone, I'm a beginner and trying to come up with a simple motor control system. I'm hoping anyone can advice me on what hardware and/or software is needed. Please keep in mind that this is system is built from scratch.

(1) User uses joystick, send signals to PC.
(2) PC running PLC receives input, and sends signals to motor.
(3) Motor runs.

I would appreciate any help on how to get started, prefably the simpliest setup for now. I hope I got the concept right :p Please feel free to advice. Thank you!

When you say PC, think expensive.

As far as a PLC goes, you could do it relatively inexpensive with any number of PLC's, such as :

Entertron
Keyance
General Electric
Automation Direct
Allen Bradley
etc.

As far as the joystick goes, why a joystick.

You only need faster and slower.

Please provide more info!

CWLeong said:
Hi everyone, I'm a beginner and trying to come up with a simple motor control system. I'm hoping anyone can advice me on what hardware and/or software is needed. Please keep in mind that this is system is built from scratch.

(1) User uses joystick, send signals to PC.
(2) PC running PLC receives input, and sends signals to motor.
(3) Motor runs.

I would appreciate any help on how to get started, prefably the simpliest setup for now. I hope I got the concept right :p Please feel free to advice. Thank you!

For the application you describe, you don't need a PC. You could just get a PLC with pulse-train outputs (to drive a stepper motor) or analog outputs (to control the speed of an AC or DC motor drive). Look in any electronics supply catalog and you'll find a selection of joysticks with discrete outputs that could be connected directly to a PLC's inputs.

Post more information and we can provide more help.