S7-226 hooked with absolute encoder

suganya

hi all,Pls help..Our application requires an absolute encoder to be interfaced with an S7-200 plc to calculate the distance traversed by an object. As a beginner i want to know if the programming is similar to pulse calculation from an incremental encoder or does this require gray code conversions.we hav planned for an omron-E6C2-AG5C encoder.

you need to calculate the count the encoder inself gives the conted values in BCD form as shown in fig

manual is attached

count1.JPG

The absolute encoder is designed to correct this problem. It is designed in such a way that the machine will always know its location. Figure 10-112 shows an example of an absolute encoder. From this figure you can see that this type of encoder has alternating opaque and transparent segments like the incremental encoder, but the absolute encoder uses multiple groups of segments that form concentric circles on the encoder wheel like a "bull's eye" on a target or dartboard. The concentric circles start in the middle of the encoder wheel and as the rings go out toward the outside of the ring they each have double the number of segments than the previous inner ring. The first ring, which is the innermost ring, has one transparent and one opaque segment. The second ring out from the middle has two transparent and two opaque segments, and the third ring has four of each segment. If the encoder has 10 rings, its outermost ring will have 512 segments, and if it has 16 rings it will have 32,767 segments.

Since each ring of the absolute encoder has double the number of segments of the prior ring, the values form numbers for a binary counting system. In this type of encoder there will be a light source and receiver for every ring on the encoder wheel. This means that the encoder with 10 rings has 10 sets of light sources and receivers, and the encoder with 16 rings has 16 light sources and receivers.