read data from a profibus slave in step7

wabbit1984

Hi.I'm quite new in this field and I allready have a problem.
I'm working with an Simatic S7-300(CPU 313C-2DP)and a 3UF5 SIMOCODE-DP.The simocode must monitor one motor(see overload,temperature...) and(I think) send to PLC a signal that all is ok .I also need that simocode to send to plc the current current(Is)so i can display it on the OP.
SO,MY PROBLEM IS HOW TO READ FROM THE 3UF5? DO I compulsory NEED TO USE A SEND/RECEIVE FUNCTIONS? HOW DO I WRITE IN MY PROGRAM IN STEP7 THE CODE(HOW DO I ADRESS THE DATA FROM THE SLAVE ).
SO MANY QUESTIONS!!!!???
I would be so grateful if somebody will answer me! Thanks.

Hello wabbit;

There are 2 parts in your question (even though you might not distinguish them yet):

1) when you configure the Profibus-DP network (say, in the HardwareConfig editor of step 7)you first setup the properties of the DP-Master (in your case the 313C-2DP Profibus interface); you then select different DP slaves that you attach graphically to the bus, select a correct DP address for each, and finally confiogure the different I/O modules (establishing the data exchange elements between master and slave) for each slave. As you do that module selection, you are required to give input and output addresses for each one; these are memory areas of the master. So when data exchanges start on the profibus link, whatever is read by the master on a DP slave is directly sent to the input addresses you selected, and whatever the master writes to the selected output addresses is immediately sent to the DP slave. Very easy and efficient.