Student looking for further training

jasauno

Hello,

I am looking for a product to help me better understand logic control systems. I have been working with Allen Bradley PLCs for about 3 years now in college. Most of my experience, however, has been stricly programming with some communication. I was just wondering if anyone knows of a training program that has helped them out a lot with wiring, communication, programming, etc. that would be worth buying. I really just dont want to spend a lot of $ for a product that just goes over basic programming or one that I do not understand anything that they are talking about. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Hello back,

I think with 3 years of A-B study under your belt, your best move would be to piece together a home-made trainer. I'm not an A-B guy but look on e-bay for hardware that you are familiar with. The software might be the hardest to come by. If you can beg or borrow (but not steal) the components and software, there are lots of projects, many described on this forum, to keep you entertained and advance your understanding.

I know my reply may not be the most helpful but your query at least deserved a bump up.

Good Luck,

Brian.

After 3 years of college, some work experience in the field might be more valuable than any more training. There are work-study programs, summer work programs, internships, and cooperative engineering programs, where you can get some valuable experience with real conditions, not made-up classroom conditions.

Also, if you know someone at a company that hires interns or summer students, that can be an easy path to some work experience.

You will be hired on the basis of what you can do for the company, not how much training that you might have. Most people can complete a school course, but nowdays not everyone can do what they have been schooled to do.