Programming question for LogixPro?

plc101

Hi to all. I'm new to the site but what brings me here is this: I'm just learning how to program in RSLogix and I'm practicing with this program called LogixPro Simulator. I'm doing the door exercise number 4 for those of you familiar with the program. I can't seem to figure out how to program the door to stop opening when I hit the close pb and stop closing when I hit the open pb. What takes place now is when the door is opening and I hit the close pb, the door starts closing. There is no halt to the door. Same goes for the door closing when I hit the open pb. I've tried timers and one shots but still not right. Is there someone out there familiar with the door exercise #4 in LogixPro?

I'm not familiar with the LogixPro simulator or the exercise you speak of, but if you post your code along with a description of what you're trying to do, we can try to help you out.

There is no halt to the door.
How could you create a halt? That is what PLC programming does: create functions that do not exist already. If everything had built-in "halts" and other functions, PLC's would not be nearly as useful.

I assume you have struggled with this for awhile, so here is one method (out of many possible ways). Use four intermediate (interposing) relays to create 2 halt functions.
Door_Opener_Ex_4.jpg

PS: Notice how the rung comments describe what the rung is going to do? It is as if a good rung description pre-ordains success. If you can describe it, then programming it becomes easier. I find it amusing how beginners put off this step (writng good comments) "until I get it working". By the time you get it working, the comments are not needed, except for the next poor slob who has to figure it out.

Last edited:
Lancie1 said: