automation direct

jimcav

well it finally happened i need to do a job with an automation direct plc been trying to avoid it but know i cant. I need a source to learn this software some thing like a beingers guide. I have been using rs logix 500 for 10 years but never used plc direct stuff. Pease help

Jim Cav

Do not know why you have been trying to avoid AD PLC's. They are very good units, espically for the price. Anyway, learning them is not hard. Look over the instruction set, like 220 something instructions. Other than that ask more specific questions and there are several people on here that will be more than willing to help. Thier phone tech help is very good also.

Micheal

If you have bought the software CD, there are good help files and some programming examples all on the CD. You can find some more program samples here on the PLCs.net Downloads, under the Automation Direct brand.

Get the manual when you place the order (or earlier), the “help” that comes with the software is hard to learn (harder then the programming of the PLC), but the manuals are very good

You can download their free software and start with that (100 words or less?) but remember get the paper back manuals they are worth it

Unless you are doing something VERY complicated, the instruction set is very similar to AB. The editor takes some getting used to, but is pretty basic.

Just have to remember, "right to left" for physical IO. The worst thing I've found about AD is their IO addressing. I'm still not sure why someone thought that was a good idea...

Make notes and charts. Print them and tape them above your PC.

The biggest difference between the two packages is memory adressing. In RSLogix you set up your own memory map, with N for integers, B for bits, etc. In the ADC DirectSoft the memory is pre-assigned, and you merely use it up as you go along. For example, V registers correspond to N files, C for internal coils and contacts correspond to B files, X inputs correspond to I: etc.